• U-46 Board of Education Appoints Dr. Suzanne Johnson Interim Superintendent

    U-46 Board of Education Appoints 
    Dr. Suzanne Johnson Interim Superintendent 
    ELGIN - The U-46 Board of Education has appointed Dr. Suzanne Johnson as the interim superintendent for the state's second-largest school district. For the past five years, Johnson has served as the deputy superintendent of instruction for the district. 
    "Dr. Johnson has demonstrated her unwavering commitment to students and staff during a nearly 26-year career devoted to public service in U-46," said Board President Susan Kerr. 
    A graduate of Elgin High School, Dr. Johnson, 47, returned to her U-46 roots to teach language arts at Canton Middle School in Streamwood. Dr. Johnson's first administrative role was as a divisional at Bartlett High School. She quickly advanced into the role of associate principal and then principal prior to moving into a role in central administration in 2013, first as an assistant superintendent of teaching and learning before being promoted to the deputy superintendent position. 
    Dr. Johnson holds her undergraduate degree from the University of Iowa, her master’s degree in curriculum and instruction from DePaul University, and her doctorate in curriculum and instruction from the University of Illinois-Chicago. 
    The interim appointment, which is effective Feb. 23, comes on the heels of the selection of Superintendent Dr. Tony Sanders as state superintendent. During the same meeting, the Board approved a resignation agreement with Dr. Sanders. 
    "The Board has full confidence in Dr. Johnson and the current administrative team," Kerr said. "Our selection of Dr. Johnson provides us with stable and known leadership while allowing the Board the opportunity to determine next steps in the selection process it wants to follow in choosing a permanent superintendent," she added. 
    Dr. Johnson and her husband, Ben, live in Streamwood. They have two children, Will and Evan. 
    School District U-46 serves families in 11 communities: Bartlett, Elgin, Hanover Park, South Elgin, Streamwood and Wayne, as well as portions of Carol Stream, Hoffman Estates, St. Charles, Schaumburg, and West Chicago. In total, the District encompasses 90 square miles within the Fox River Valley, approximately 45 minutes west of downtown Chicago, and includes communities within Cook, DuPage and Kane counties. More than 35,000 preschoolers through 12th graders attend the 57 District schools and programs. To learn more, visit the U-46 website, or like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

  • Elgin Development Group
    A Division of the Elgin Area Chamber

    31 S. Grove Avenue, Elgin IL 60120