• Village of South Elgin


    Government Offices

    About Us

    South Elgin is rich in history, culture, recreation and natural beauty. Long before Illinois? early settlers moved into the region during the nineteenth century, the Fox River carved out a picturesque valley through northeastern Illinois. By 1835, the Fox River Valley was established and a small settlement emerged with a blacksmith shop, flour mills and a quarry that was known as Clintonville. In the mid-1880?s the Clintonville Post Office changed its name to South Elgin and the area was incorporated as the Village of South Elgin on April 20, 1897. The Village slowly grew and evolved from a rural farming community and railroad depot, to a thriving modern community. Residents here enjoy the natural beauty of the Fox River, and live close to work and schools. In 2007, Money Magazine ranked South Elgin as one of the Best Places to Live in the United States for economic opportunity, excellent schools, safe streets, things-to-do and a real sense of community. In 2011, the Village was ranked in the CNN/Money?s Top 100 again for economic strength, great job opportunities, top schools and safe streets.

    The Village is located in Northeastern Illinois? Kane County, approximately 40 miles northwest of Chicago. IL Route 31 and IL Route 25 extend south to St. Charles and north to Elgin and beyond.


    Rep/Contact Info

    Ms. Paula Glaspie
    Human Resources Coordinator
    • Phone: (847) 742-5780
    Ms. Nancy Hill AICP
    Director of Community Development
    • Phone: (847) 741-3894
    Mr. Mike Millette
    • Phone: (847) 742-5780
    Mr. Craig Pierce
    Communications Specialist
    • Phone: (847) 742-5780 x5312
    Debbie Ramsey
    General Inquiry Contact
    • Phone: (847) 742-5780
    Ms. Kim Wascher
    Parks and Recreation Director
    • Phone: (847) 742-5780
  • Elgin Development Group
    A Division of the Elgin Area Chamber

    31 S. Grove Avenue, Elgin IL 60120