• Office of Senator Cristina Castro

    Office of Senator Cristina Castro


    Government Offices

    About Us

    State Senator Cristina Castro represents the 22nd District, which includes all or part of 10 different communities located within Cook and Kane County. She is a second-generation Mexican-American and lifelong district resident who is committed to her community and to public service.

    Castro’s involvement in the community started during high school when she participated in student groups, volunteered at school functions and helped coordinate and plan activities at school and in the Elgin community. Through these volunteer efforts she discovered her deep passion for helping others and working with the community.

    After high school, Castro received an associate degree from Elgin Community College, then became the first person in her family to earn a Bachelor of Science and a Master of Business Administration from Northern Illinois University.

    While active in her community throughout her life, Castro’s public service career began in 2008 when she was elected to the Kane County Board where she served until 2016. In addition to the Kane County Board, she served on the board of directors for the Illinois Housing Development Authority, Black History Family Festival and Centro de Información.

    Castro has a marketing and communications management background and has held positions in both the public and private sector. In 2015, she decided to run for the Illinois State Senate with the intention of using her professional background, life experiences and compassion to represent the interests and concerns of the people of the 22nd District.


    Gallery Image CRISTINA%20CASTRO_180222-092402.jpg
    Gallery Image State%20Sentar%20Cristina%20Castro.png

    Rep/Contact Info

    Mr. Mario Keane
    District Liaison
    • Phone: (847) 214-8864
    Ms. Mavilen Silva
    Chief of Staff
    • Phone: (847) 214-8864
    Mr. Jose Villalobos
    District Outreach Specialist
    • Phone: (847) 214-8864
  • Elgin Development Group
    A Division of the Elgin Area Chamber

    31 S. Grove Avenue, Elgin IL 60120