• Elgin Symphony Orchestra

    Elgin Symphony Orchestra


    Performing ArtsNonProfits

    About Us

    The Elgin Symphony Orchestra is unmatched for quality music and a fun, relaxing, cultural experience. In addition to magnificent music performed by some of the best musicians in the region, patrons can enjoy a drink, time with friends and even shop at the Elgin Symphony League Boutique in the lobby of the Hemmens Cultural Center. From start to finish – the ESO brings world class, big city entertainment without the hassles of the big city.

    ESO History
    Named “Orchestra of the Year” an unprecedented four times by the Illinois Council of Orchestras, (1988,1999, 2005 and 2016) and winner of a 2010 Elgin Image Award, the Elgin Symphony Orchestra, now in its 67th season, is respected for exceptional performance, innovative education programs, and community outreach initiatives.

    Founded in 1950 by Douglas Steensland at Elgin Community College, the Orchestra has benefited from the contributions of many talented conductors and musicians during its sixty-three year history. With the appointment of Grammy Award-winning conductor Margaret Hillis as Music Director in 1971, the Orchestra’s artistic growth advanced significantly. The Orchestra became fully professional in 1985 under the direction of conductor/composer Robert Hanson, who was named Music Director earlier that year. Maestro Hanson held the position until his retirement at the conclusion of the 2010-2011 concert season.

    Continue reading history at: https://www.elginsymphony.org/about/


    Gallery Image Stacked_RGB_Black_on_Clear_012414.jpg
    Gallery Image eso1.jpg
    Gallery Image eso2.jpg
    Gallery Image eso3.jpg
    Gallery Image eso4.jpg


    Release Date: March 01, 2023

    Rep/Contact Info

    Mr. Bert Crossland
    Board President
    • Phone: (847) 888-4000
    Mr. Eric Gaston-Falk
    Vice President
    • Phone: (847) 888-4000
    Mr. Chuck Kocal
    Marketing Director
    • Phone: (847) 888-4000
    Mr. Macauley Manzano
    Librarian and Patron Services
    • Phone: (847) 888-4000
    Mr. Marc Thayer
    • Phone: (847) 888-4000
    Mr. Rylan Virnig
    Community Partnerships
    • Phone: (847) 888-4000
    Mr. Matthew Way
    Director of Development
    • Phone: (847) 888-4000
    Ms. LaTrisha Williams
    Harmony Coordinator
    • Phone: (847) 888-4000
  • Elgin Development Group
    A Division of the Elgin Area Chamber

    31 S. Grove Avenue, Elgin IL 60120