• Government.png
  • Government
  • Founded in 1834, Elgin was chartered as a city by the State of Illinois in 1854. Approximately 100 years later, Elgin became the first city in Illinois to adopt a council-manager form of government. Residents elect eight at-large council members and a mayor, who serve on a part-time basis. The city manager, a full-time professional, serves at the direction of the mayor and city council. 

  • City-Seal-color-no-background1.gif
  • David-Kaptain.jpg
  • David Kaptain, Mayor of Elgin

  • City of elgin council members

    Corry Dixon​

    Dustin Good

    Rosamaria Martinez

    Tish S. Powell

    Carol J. Rauschenberger

    Toby Shaw

    F. John Steffen

    Steve Thoren

  • Rick-Kozal.jpg
  • Richard G. Kozal, Elgin City Manager





    The Elgin Fire Department achieved an Insurance Service Office Community Public Protection Classification 2 rating, which places the Elgin department in the top two-percent of communities nationwide and lowers industrial insurance rates.


  • Local, State, Federal Representation Local, State, Federal Representation

  • Elgin resides in Kane County and Cook County. A portion of Hanover Township is located within Cook County, and Elgin Township, Plato Township, Rutland Township, Dundee Township, and Campton Township are located within Kane County.


  • Kane County District Map

    • Clifford Surges, District 21
    • Mohammad "Mo" Iqbal, District 19
    • Penny Wegman, District 20
    • Deborah Allan, District 17
    • Douglas Scheflow, District 22
    • Barbara Wojnicki, District 15
    • Michael Kenyon, District 16


  • Cook County District Map

    • Kevin B. Morrison, District 15


  • Elgin-Township-Logo-Test-3-1newnew.png
    • Rick Poulton, Trustee
    • Susan Van Weelden, Trustee
    • Vern Tepe, Trustee
    • Ed Guerra, Trustee
    • Franklin Ramirez, Supervisor
    • Karen Dowling, Clerk


  • Document-(1)-w500.jpg
    • Alisa "Lee" Beattie, Trustee
    • Katy Dolan Baumer, Clerk
    • Craig Essick, Trustee
    • Eugene Martinez, Trustee
    • Brain McGuire, Supervisor
    • Khaja Moinuddin, Trustee
    • Thomas Smogolski, Trustee
  • Illinois-w200.jpg

    Download House District Map

    • Anna C. Moeller (D) District 43
    • Fred Crespo (D) District 44
    • Karina Villa (D) District 49
    • Dan Ugaste (R) District 65
    • Allen Skillicorn (R) District 66
    • Jeff Keicher (R) District 70



    Download Senate District Map

    • Cristina Castro (D) District 22
    • Jim Oberweis (R) District 25
    • Don Dewitte (R) District 33
    • Dave Syverson (R) District 35


  • US-Coat-of-Arms.png

    Download US Congressional District Map

    • Sean Casten (D) 6th Congressional District
    • Lauren Underwood (D) 14th Congressional District
    • Raja Krishnamoorthi (D) 8th Congressional District
    • Tammy Duckworth (D)
    • Dick Durbin (D)